Training Dates

Library Training – Jan-June 2021

Due to the current pandemic we are unable to run 1-1 sessions in person, if you would like a ‘virtual’ session using Microsoft Teams then please contact us and we’ll arrange a mutually suitable date and time.  Contact information is below.

Do you ..     want to look beyond your reading list? Are you ..     embarking on a literature review?
have a patient with an unusual condition? not sure how to judge the validity of a paper?
need the latest evidence to support a guideline/policy? uncomfortable interpreting statistics?

Our training sessions can help you identify articles and evidence quickly, and build your confidence in assessing the worth of a study.

Literature Search: – how to construct and apply a search strategy to identify literature on a topic using the interface provided through NICE Evidence to the major healthcare databases.

Critical Appraisal: – a series of bite-sized sessions covering various aspects of assessing a paper.

In addition we also offer individual support on: referencing, building search strategies, searching on BMJ Best Practice, DynaMed, Cochrane, TRIP or Google and an introduction to using SPSS.

Phone 01536 492862 or email kgh-tr.library.index@nhs.net to book a place or discuss your individual/group requirements.

Session Title Date Time
Literature Search Thurs 14th Jan 10.00-11.00
CA: Study design Tues 26th Jan 14.00-15.00
Literature Search Mon 8th Feb 14:00-15:00
CA: Appraising a randomised control trial Thurs 25th Feb 14:00-15:30
Literature Search Fri 12th Mar 11:00-12:00
CA: Appraising a qualitative paper Tues 23rd Mar 10:00-11:00
Literature search Tues 13th Apr 15:30-16:30
CA: Statistics 1 – p numbers, confidence intervals, study power Fri 30th Apr 10:00-11:30
Literature search Thurs 20th May 10:00-11:00
CA: Statistics 2 – Absolute and relative risk, NNT Tues 8th June 14:00-15:30